Chocolate Chip Cookies; a love note to my husband

This blog currently has but three people I know who read every word I write; my mom, my dad and my husband.  (Hi guys!)  And through I appreciate the love and support from all of them, this post, given that it’s Valentines day and all, is dedicated to my husband… Though it should be known that my dad has sent me flowers on this day for as long as I can remember.  They have had a way of ‘following me home’ to a myriad of rooms, apartments, houses and countries- they have a much better sense of direction than I do! He and my mother will get their culinary tribute this May when we invade their home and create total utter loveable chaos.  This one though, on the anniversary of his marriage proposal, goes to Nick.

Sometimes marriage is the basics… it’s the weekly sweet potato and pasta provisions.  I’m not talking about anything physical here, there is no innuendo (you don’t have to overt your eyes Mom and Dad I promise), I’m talking about what it takes to nurture any good friendship or relationship. Especially since having kids, it’s often incredibly hard to find the time, money or energy to do more than the weekly ‘meal prep’ when it comes to our relationship.  It’s not good or bad, moreover it’s just the reality of balancing several different roles and responsibilities.  Nick and I are lucky to have spent years together alone in the test kitchens, figuring out what recipes nourished and sustained our relationship well before having kids (yes, I’m running with this metaphor. Bare with me.) so most of the time, honestly, it’s cool.

But for all of the sweet potatoes, pesto pastas and other wholesome, sustaining-but-time-efficient nourishment, when it comes to marriage there also needs to be room for chocolate chip cookies.  They are a simple pleasure, but require a bit more thought than the daily bread. They remind you that each day you come home to a warm, sweet-smelling house, even on the days when you don’t.  They are a lovely and unexpected treat, but uncomplicated and far from labor-intensive. Chocolate chip cookies though slightly more decadent, still allow you to be your sweat pants and messy hair-wearing self.  You don’t have to wear fancy clothes and lipstick to enjoy them, though you can if you like.

DSC_0352

Happy Valentine’s Day, dear Valentine.  May we never forget the need or simple joy of chocolate chip cookies. I love you.

PS. Recipe is from the Hummingbird Bakery’s cookbookHere are a few others of theirs worthy of trying

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Rebecca says:

    Are these the same cookies you made when we left London??

    Like

    1. They are! Amazing memory (and cookie recipe…)

      Like

  2. Rebecca says:

    These were delicious! I’m going to have to dig out my Hummingbird Book and bake these, I’ll rename them Adrienne cookies!! X

    Like

    1. I would not discourage you from doing so one bit:) I would only hope to join you in making them again someday. X

      Like

Leave a comment