Experimenting with Fresh Salsa

I’ve heard it said that our taste buds change every seven years- have you heard that? Is it true?

I remember not liking tomatoes as a young child, nor tomato soup. Every time I was presented with the option to eat them and refused someone would always pipe up and tell me my taste buds would change as I got older and I would like them. Annoying at the time (‘I AM old‘) but turns out they, whomever they were, were correct.

I’ve recently had a revelation, or rather my taste buds have. Turns out, I LOVE coriander (cilantro). Not only did I not like it, but I borderline detested it up until, well, about a month ago. And then all of a sudden something magically changed.

I attended a Thai cooking class one evening last month and the minute we started chopping up the coriander, the smell that had made me go ‘ugh’ for years and years suddenly made my mouth water. It smelled so bright! So fresh! I couldn’t wait to eat the dish it was used in!

Since then I have been putting it in just about everything (much to my husband’s dismay who still feels pretty ‘ugh’ about it).

DSC_0031

I’ve also been experimenting with fresh salsas for the last few weeks in attempt to celebrate summer, discovering that my favourite store-bought one was way cheaper and way tastier to make myself, with just the press of the food processor. Why it took me so long to figure this out I’m not sure.

IMG_4512

So, here are two quick salsas that I’ve made that I can’t stop thinking about and modifying (add an avocado and cucumbers to the first one and it’s pretty much a meal!). One has the herby stuff and one is without. I am now hooked on the idea of adding a fresh salsa to just about every meal and snack, especially while (some) of the ingredients are in season.

 

IMG_4518

Hand Chopped Mango Salsa

1 mango, diced

1/4 red onion, diced

1 punnet (200-300g) grape or plum tomatoes, diced

1 tsp demarara sugar

2 tsp sea salt

juice of 1 lime

5-6 mint leaves, thinly shredded

Directions

Dice, sprinkle, squeeze, scatter and mix. Best if let sit for 30-60 minutes (or up to a day or two) for the flavours to mix together.

 

DSC_0033

Fresh Tomato & Coriander Salsa

1 punnet (200-300g) grape or plum tomatoes

1/2 red onion

1 large bunch corriander

1tsp (or a bit more) salt

1 clover garlic

1 lime, juiced

*pinch of sugar (depends on taste)

*chilli (depends on taste)

Directions

Add all ingredients to your food processor and chop until you reach your desired texture.

 

What more excuse do you need to make every Tuesday, Taco Tuesday?!

IMG_4679

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. phylicia says:

    Both look great! I think I have some garden tomatoes headed my way from a friend so I will try then!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nice- garden tomatoes are the best! Let me know what you think- I really like how juicy they both were!

      Like

Leave a Reply

