Slow Cooker Sweetcorn, Sweet Potato & Coconut Soup

As summer begins to wind down we have been looking for new ways to eat our favourite produce from the season- corn on the cob being top of the list.  Though our taste buds could never get enough of those juicy golden kernels, I was looking for something a little bit easier on the tummy.  A two-cob-a-week habit eventually becomes too much.

As I have also mentioned before on this blog, despite the delicious produce and anything-goes nature of summer, autumn is my one true love when it comes to seasons. It seems that mother nature has rewarded me with my perseverance of an “embrace summer” attitude by giving me cooler temperatures for my birthday week. She didn’t know that it also the week of our beach holiday, but what can you do.  Low and behold this soup was born.  Still bright, juicy and sweet like those little golden nuggets hiding underneath their husks, but thankfully also creamy, smooth, and easy to digest.  And, unintentionally vegan.  So there.

I broke out the slow cooker for the first time in a few months for this dish.

DSC_0610

Sweetcorn, Sweet Potato & Coconut Soup

4 ears corn on the cob, raw and washed

2 cloves garlic, peeled but kept whole

2 sweet potatoes, peeled and roughly chopped

1 tin coconut milk

salt to taste

Directions

Using a sharp chefs knife cut the kernels off of all four ears of corn.  Add them along with your chunks of sweet potato, two cloves of garlic, tin of coconut milk and good pinch of salt to your slow cooker.

I cooked mine on high for approx five hours. I then turned it off and let it cool to room temp before placing it in the fridge overnight.  The next morning I tipped the soup into my blender and whizzed away until smooth.  There were still tiny fibres left from the corn kernels, so you can pass it through a sieve for good measure, but no one here seemed to mind the texture at all.

When I was ready to serve the soup I heated it up slowly and served with with a sprinkle of salt and pepper and a squirt of lemon.  The lemon really made the dish!  We did that whole sweet sour pucker thing and it was amazing.  Seconds for everyone.

When you are ready to heat it up again, put it on a low fire and give it plenty of time so the coconut milk doesn’t boil and start to separate.  Serve with a drizzle of roasted garlic oil (garlic heated slowly in oil so as to infuse the oil rather than cook your garlic) and a good pinch of salt and pepper.

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Sweetcorn, Sweet Potato & Coconut Soup

  1. I’m hiking the Appalachian Trail right now, and reading your blog leads to the best and most satisfying daydreams about food.
    I’ll definitely be trying this recipe when I get back home.

    Like

    1. Hi Ed, I saw you were hiking the trail and think that’s amazing with a wee touch of crazy 🙂 I’m so glad to have inspired a good food-related daydream, what a lovely compliment. Happy trails! Hope you’re feet are holding up ok!

      Like

Leave a Reply

