Matzah Brei- Reminders of Home

Earlier this week, in preparation for my version of the upcoming Passover holiday, I was testing out my recipe for Matzah Brei.  For those unfamiliar with anything other than recreational matzah eating (if you’re wondering if you are a recreational matzah eater, you probably are if you ever uttered something similar to, “matzah’s just like crackers!” ) Matzah Brei is should also not be confused with the brie, the delicious French cheese.  Oh were matzah ever that creamy…DSC_1024

Anyhow, I had made a rather large batch of it on this particular afternoon, photographed it (as you can see here) and shoveled it down for lunch.  It’s delicious, easy, and totally gateway and unoffensive for those interested in Passover traditions but not really interested in trying say, gefilte fish or other dishes which may require more of an acquired taste.  Having consumed my last bite, I cleared up my dishes and moved on to other things around the house.  About thirty minutes later as I was bounding down the stairs, mind somewhere else, I was hit by the lingering smell of my lunch and it instantly transported me back to my childhood days.  So powerful it completely stopped me in my tracks, I became wistful and longing for the carefree days spent under my parents roof.  The combination of butter and onions, and that very specific smell of the softened, golden corners of the fried matzah transcended space and time.  It was my mothers house, my grandmothers house, and now my very own.

DSC_1029

Matzah Brei- for Passover or just fond memories

Serves 2

4 sheets kosher for Passover matzah

4 eggs

1 white onion, diced

2 tbsp butter

1 medium size bowl, filled with warm tap water

lots of salt and pepper to taste

Add butter to a pan over medium heat and melt.  Then, add your onions and cook until softened and translucent, moving them periodically with a wooden spoon or spatula.  Meanwhile, break and beat your eggs, adding in a generous amount of salt and pepper.

When your onions are softened, quickly dunk your matzah sheets into the bowl of water, leaving them to soak for no more than 15 seconds or so.  Break the sheets roughly into manageable-sized  pieces as you add them to your onions. Quickly add in your eggs immediately following and continue to move around the pan.

Continue breaking the matzah and egg into pieces with a wooden spoon as you fry, making sure the matzah is cooked all sides.  When the pieces become golden around the edges (about five minutes on med/high heat) you’re done.  Plate, serve, devour.DSC_1027

2 thoughts on “Matzah Brei- Reminders of Home

  1. So I’ve been playing around with mine all week… and I think I’ve settled on a 3:2 egg:matzoh ratio. With 1:1 mine was falling apart a bit too much.

    Like

    1. Really? Interesting, so is it more scrambled egg-like with the extra egg? Do you compensate by soaking for less time? I had a pretty good heat going so the matzah fried fast which I think is what saved it from breaking apart. Either way it and brisket are by far my favourite parts of Passover (save maybe for some flourless chocolate cake..)!

      Like

Leave a Reply

