Broccoli, Spinach & Parmesan Fritters with Lemon

During cake week last week a friend asked me what we had planned for Easter this year.  It suddenly dawned on me, I hadn’t actually given one single thought past getting through that week.  I had built it up for so long; the cakes, the special celebrations, the presents, the activities, that it felt a little bit like falling off a cliff when it was all over.  It was a relief too of course as I had built up that week to serious mountain-size heights in my head, but all of a sudden I was without the ‘next project’ queued up.

I’m a planner.  I know this about myself. And actually, I like this about myself too.  After I figured that I was happiest when I was planning something (no matter how big or small, short term or long term ) I discovered it actually seems to help me create balance. If I’ve developed some structure for myself I can feel ok giving myself permission to be spontaneous (or even lazy!) too.  Planning helps me to be creative and relaxed oddly enough.  Therefore I tend to gravitate towards activities, people, and meals that embrace both structure and spontaneity.

DSC_0478Not only are these Broccoli Fritters delicious and easy, but they also include both things that I crave.  You can make the batter in advance which is awesome.  Planning- check! You can also go off recipe and use whatever vegetables you have lying around in the batter.  Spontaneity! You can totally forgo cutlery at the table too if you really want to feel the wind through your hair.

Eating these after cake week made me feel like I had reduced the risk of the girls contracting scurvy, so that’s a bonus too.

DSC_0489Broccoli, Spinach & Parmesan Fritters with Lemon

adapted from Smitten Kitchen (who I love more than is probably healthy)

Serves 4

Ingredients

1 large head broccoli, chopped into florets

1 cup chopped spinach, cooked and drained of any excess water (I use frozen)

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

lemon zest & juice from 1 lemon

3/4 – 1 cup flour (white, wholewheat, spelt- your call!)

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

Steam broccoli using your preferred method.  If you have older kids (or none at all) you can under cook the broccoli so there is still a bit of a bite.  However if you’re working with little people with minimal teeth you’ll probably want to make it pretty soft.

Combine all ingredients above, using a fork or potato masher to combine.  The consistency of the batter should  be wet, but not runny.  Batter can chill in the fridge for a few hours if necessary so you can feel free to make this recipe in stages.

Thirty minutes before you want to serve your fritters take the batter out of the fridge.  In a heavy bottomed pan heat a small amount of oil (just enough to coat the bottom) until hot.  Then, pretend you’re making pancakes, flipping each fritter over once until golden brown on both sides.

Drain on paper towel, then keep on a plate in the oven (oven on very low) to keep warm.

Once the fritters are done serve with yoghurt to dip, maybe some smoked salmon if you’re feeling fancy.  Forks are optional!

Leave a Reply

