Saddness and Oatmeal

This morning I made oatmeal, because I was sad.

Sad that there are now two babies in the world with one less set of arms to hug them and love them.

Sad there is now a wife without the opportunity for mundane comforts, like kissing her husband goodbye when he goes off to work.

Sad there are two brothers missing their big brothers taunts and encouragements.

The world felt sad this morning so I made oatmeal, with big handfuls of raisins and chunks of bananas and whole milk. And I stirred and stirred and hoped I could try to replace the sadness I felt deep within, with love.  And gratitude.

The oatmeal filled up my girls, and made me thankful for the moment. But it has not yet replaced the sadness.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Phylicia says:

    Aw man A. I get this.
    Deeper than eating your feeling but preparing a meal that fits your emotion to try to heal.
    Love this!

    Like

    1. You totally get it, Phylicia. Such a sweetheart, thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

